Michigan Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

Course Catalog

Required CE Hours

Producers

24 CE hours*, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term.  If a licensee completes more than 3 credits in ethics, the additional credits beyond the 3 required ethics credits will count toward the "other" 21 credits needed.

*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

Special Training/Education Requirements

Annuity Training

  • All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.  

Long-Term Care (LTC)

  • Initial LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Michigan, producers must complete an initial state-approved LTC training course.
  • Ongoing LTC training requirement: After completing the initial training requirement, producers must complete state-approved LTC training every 24 months thereafter. 

Flood Insurance

All Michigan producers who are authorized to sell flood insurance must complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 

Non-Resident CE Requirements

Michigan is reciprocal with all other states.  By meeting your home state CE requirements you will automatically comply with Michigan's requirements. You are not required to submit proof of CE compliance to our office. 

Special Training/Education Requirements

Annuity Training

  • All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.

Note: Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Michigan's law will be deemed compliant for Michigan's requirement.

Long-Term Care (LTC)

  • Initial LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Michigan, producers must complete an initial state-approved LTC training course.
  • Ongoing LTC training requirement: After completing the initial training requirement, producers must complete state-approved LTC training every 24 months thereafter.  
License Term

The license term is every 2 years, based on the first day of the producer’s birth month in odd- or even-numbered years. 

  • Producers born in an odd-numbered year are required to complete their CE by the first day of their birth month in the next odd year and every two years thereafter.
  • Producers born in an even-numbered year are required to complete their CE by the first day of their birth month in the next even year and every two years thereafter.
  • Your first CE review date must allow you at least 12 months to complete 24 CE credits after your license is first approved.
Course Repetition Rules

A course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2-year license term.

CE Carryover Allowance

Effective July 1, 2018: If a licensee completes additional CE hours in the current review period, up to 12 may be applied (carried over) to the next review period. Licensees must first be compliant with their current CE review period requirements to be eligible for carryover credit hours. All carried over credit hours (earned as Ethics or General) will count toward the General hours requirement when carried over to the next review period.

CE Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:

  • Those who hold a limited life license
  • Those who hold a turkey, crop, and hail license
  • Those who hold a travel, accident, and baggage license
  • Those who hold a title license
  • Those who hold a credit products license
Final Exam Requirements

Exam proctor requirements

Exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party. A disinterested third party is an individual with no family or financial relationship to the student; therefore, he or she shall not serve for examinations of family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners, joint ventures, or co-owners; or anyone in whom the proctor or instructor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.

Exam rules

Self-study final exams are closed book. Licensees may not refer to the course material during the exam. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Roster Fees

A roster fee of $1.00 per credit hour ordered is required to process course completion hours in Michigan and will be added to the order total upon checkout.

Last Updated
Thursday, June 28th, 2018
Disclaimer

Net Study provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither Net Study nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

State Contact Information
Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services
Phone: 517-373-0220
Fax: 877-999-6442
Email: ofir-info@michigan.gov
 
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909