Minnesota Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

Course Catalog

Required CE Hours

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every license term.

Note: Insurance producers may take all continuing education hours over the Internet or via other verifiable self-study, but only half of the required Continuing Education hours may be obtained through company-sponsored courses.

 

Special Training/Education Requirements

Annuity Training

All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.


Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Minnesota, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved LTC training course.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24 months thereafter.


Flood Insurance

Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). 

Non-Resident CE Requirements

Nonresidents do not have a MN CE requirement.  If a nonresident producer is compliant in their home state they are considered to be compliant in Minnesota.  Nonresident licensees can renew their licenses online here.  Nonresident licensee also have to meet the special training or education requirements as described below.

Special Training/Education Requirements

Annuity Training

All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.

Note: Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Minnesota's law will be deemed compliant for Minnesota's annuity training requirement, but this will not satisfy any of Minnesota's continuing educationrequirements.

 

Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Minnesota, nonresident producers must complete an initial 8-hour NAIC LTC training course and a Minnesota-specific course or supplement.
  • Minnesota State Specific LTC requirement:  For non-residents who have completed the initial 8-hour LTC Partnership course in another state, they must take a 2-hour LTC training course, specific to Minnesota
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, nonresident producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-months thereafter.
License Term

The license term is 24 months.  The license renewal date is the last day of the licensee's birth month.

*This change took effect in 2010 and took effect in accordance with the accompanying "Birth month renewals" chart provided by the Minnesota Department of Commerce. Click here to find the MN Birth Month Renewal Chart.

Course Repetition Rules

No credit will be earned if the licensee has previously obtained credit for the same course during the same licensing period.

CE Carryover Allowance

Carryover of excess CE hours is not allowed.

CE Exemptions

The following are exempt from Minnesota CE requirements:

  • Individuals who hold a full-lines license but use it to sell only credit life, credit accident and health, and/or credit property (Must request exemption form from the Department of Commerce.)
  • Nonresident producers whose home state has a reciprocal agreement with Minnesota. A nonresident whose home state does not have a reciprocal agreement with Minnesota may apply hours earned in his or her home state or another CE state to Minnesota’s CE requirement.
  • Nonresident adjusters who are licensed and in good standing in their home states.
Final Exam Requirements

Exam proctor requirements

Self-study final exams do not require a monitor.  For Correspondence courses ONLY, this state requires a proctor. 

Exam rules

Self-study final exams are closed book. Licensees may not refer to the course material during the exam. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Special Note: The Minnesota Department of Commerce requires all online continuing education courses not allow access to the final exam until the student’s time in the course equals the number of approved credit hours for the course. The course must be stopped if the student has been inactive for more than 10 minutes and a student may not spend more than 8 hours on continuing education in one day. For example: Any course that is worth 9-16 CE hours will take a minimum of 2 days to complete.  Any course that is worth 17-24 CE hours will take a minimum of 3 days to complete.

Roster Fees

Some states or their third party vendors may impose additional fees when processing courses for CE credit. Minnesota has no such fee.

Last Updated
Wednesday, July 15th, 2015
Disclaimer

Net Study provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither Net Study nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

State Contact Information
Minnesota Department of Commerce
Phone: 651-296-6319 or 800-657-3978
Fax: 651-284-4107
Email: Education.Commerce@state.mn.us
 
Mailing Address: 
Minnesota Department of Commerce
Office of the Commissioner
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
 
Sircon
Phone: 877-876-4430
Fax: 404-656-0874
Web site: http://www.sircon.com