Healthcare Reform: Pre-Existing Conditions, Benefit Limits, Rescission & Patient Protection Rules - VA
Insurance Continuing Education in Virginia
3 credit hours
* A roster fee of $2.60 per credit is required to file Insurance Continuing Education credit in Virginia. That fee is collected as part of your purchase and is then used to pay for the filling of your credits.
If purchased today, this course must be completed by:
July 31, 2024 (236 Days)
Professional Continuing Education
In this course you will be introduced to terms and concepts used in connection with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Act) signed into law on March 23, 2010, and the Regulations for its implementation. Each new term is defined in the text and included in the Glossary. The concepts are explained and, where appropriate, are demonstrated through the use of examples.
At the conclusion of each module, a quiz is presented to test your comprehension of the material in that module. A response is given to the answers you select to the quiz questions affirming the correct choice or explaining why the choice you selected was incorrect.
Upon completion of this course, you should be able to
- explain the rules applicable to grandfathered health plans;
- describe the effective dates and rules governing the use of pre-existing condition exclusions in group and individual health insurance plans;
- discuss the annual and lifetime benefit limit rules applicable to essential health benefits under healthcare reform legislation;
- identify the conditions that would permit an insurer to rescind health insurance coverage and the applicable notice requirements; and
- explain the patient protection provisions of healthcare reform.
Although no specific course prerequisite is necessary for a full understanding of the material presented in this course, students should possess a solid, working knowledge of group and individual health insurance.
Rules for Virginia Insurance Continuing Education
- Self-Study course material is approved as either online or correspondence. Online training is delivered through an internet based learning environment. Correspondence is delivered by a PDF/Textbook provided directly to the student upon enrollment. You must complete review of the course material before accessing the final exam.
- Exam is closed book.
- Agents cannot receive CE credit for a course taught in alternative formats (a classroom course, online course, video or audio conference, web-conference–based, etc.) if the curriculum is based on the same published materials; this rule applies to any variation of course types.
- ONLY the Virginia Insurance License Number (VLN) or the National Producer Number (NPN) are permitted forms of student identification. Social Security Number, driver’s license number, and all other forms of personal identifiers are strictly prohibited.
- Students are not permitted to complete more than eight credit hours per day. Any course exceeding 8 hours of credit must be completed with a start and end time which is greater than 24 hours apart.
- Student Certification forms which are distributed during your completion of the course are to be submitted to our office no later than 7 days from the date you successfully complete your final exam. All online exams completed on this platform include your electronic certification as part of the exam process.
- The state of Virginia requires providers of online training to restrict access to the final exam until a student has completed the course material in its entirety. To meet these requirements we have put in place a Course Material Verification code on single module online courses which can be found on the last page of your course materials. This code will be required prior to accessing the final exam. For courses which are correspondence, videos or multiple modules, you must review the entirety of the course before the start exam button will appear.
- The state of Virginia charges an additional fee of $2.60 per credit hour.