Virginia Insurance CE


Continuing Education That Is:

Convenient

Same-day processing

Study at your own pace

Unlimited free exam retakes

Affordable

Low prices + High quality

No hidden or recurring fees

Unlimited CE memberships

Compliant

100% state approved

Expert, friendly staff

Satisfaction guaranteed

Browse our Virginia Courses

Are you an approved provider of CE in Virginia?

Yes. Our Virginia state approval number is: 124483.

How long will it take to have my credits processed?

Most students will have their credits processed the same day on which they complete their final exam. If a course is completed outside of our normal business hours, these credits will be processed on the morning of the next business day. Once your credits have been successfully filed, you will receive a notification email that also contains your Certificate of Completion.

Do I need a proctor during my exam?

Virginia insurance continuing education requires you to sign a Student Certification form which is done online through electronic signature before entering the exam.

What are the requirements for my course's final exam?

Self-study final exams are closed book. Licensees may not refer to the course material while the exam is in progress.

The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. Students have unlimited attempts to pass the exam.

Are there filing fees in Virginia?

No. There are no processing fees in this state.

Are there time limits on my course or exam?

No. You may spend as much time with the course material as you feel necessary, and you may come and go from that material as often as you like. There is no time limit on our exams, however all exams must be completed within one sitting. Once started, if an exam is abandoned for any reason you will need to begin that exam from the beginning when you next return.

Do take special note that every course has an expiration date, which is based on both the state approval and your website purchase date. In order to receive credit you must complete the course before that expiration date.

What are the resident CE requirements in Virginia?

Producers – Single License

One license: 16 CE hours*, including 3 hours in ethics (which may include Virginia laws and regulations), are required every 2-year license term. 

Note: Life, Annuities, and Health is considered a single license for CE purposes.

*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

Producers – Multiple License

24 CE hours*, including 3 hours in ethics (which may include Virginia laws and regulations), are required every 2-year license term.  There is a minimum of 8 credits applicable to each license type held.

*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

Public Adjuster

24 CE hours*, including 3 hours in ethics (which may include Virginia laws and regulations), are required every 2-year license term.

*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

 

Special Training/Education Requirements

Annuity

  • Virginia's Suitability in Annuities training requirements is effective April 1, 2017. Existing producers have until 1/1/2018 to complete a one-time 4 hour annuity course; producers hired after 1/1/2018 must complete a course before representing annuities.
  • Virginia residents must complete Virginia courses - even those who previously completed a course in a non-resident state that previously adopted the requirement. Non-residents may complete a course in their resident state that has adopted a training requirement based on the 2010 Suitabity in Annuities regulation.

Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Virginia, producers must complete an initial 8-hour LTC course.  IMPORTANT: The initial training must consist of 6 hours of general LTC topics and 2 hours of LTC Partnership topics.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training every 24-month period. The ongoing training must consist of 2 hours of general LTC topics and 2 hours of LTC Partnership topics.
  • Note: Failure to complete the ongoing 4-hour training course within 24 months of completion of the Initial 8-hour training course, will forfeit recognition of the Initial 8-hour training course by the Virginia Department of Insurance, and will result in the Initial 8-hour training course having to be repeated.

Flood Insurance

  • Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Other Restrictions

  • No more than 75 percent of your required credits may be obtained from courses provided by insurance companies or agencies.
What are the non-resident CE requirements in Virginia?

Virginia law is reciprocal with CE laws of all other states, and permits nonresident agents to comply with Virginia’s CE requirements by complying with the CE requirements in their home state. Nonresident agents’ only requirement is to pay the nonrefundable $20 Continuance fee on or before December 31, 2014. Click here to pay the nonrefundable Continuance fee and Pearson VUE will verify your home state status through the NAIC’s National Producer Data Base (PDB). Do not submit a hard copy Letter of Certification or PDB printout.

Nonresident producers who are not exempt have the following CE requirements:

One license: 16 CE hours, including 3 hours in ethics (which may include Virginia laws and regulations), are required every 2-year license term. Life, Annuities, and Health is considered a single license for CE purposes.

Two or more licenses: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours in ethics (which may include Virginia laws and regulations), are required every 2-year license term.  Virginia has course category restrictions.  See CE subject requirements below. 

Nonresident producers selling LTC have special training or education requirements as described below:

 

Special Training/Education Requirements

Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Virginia, nonresident producers must complete an initial 8-hour, NAIC LTC course approved in any state as well as the 2-hour Virginia LTC Partnership course.

  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, nonresident producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training every 24-month period as well as the 2-hour Virginia LTC Partnership course.

When do I need to have my CE completed?

Producers: *New for 2013-2014 Biennium - The license term is 2 years ending November 30 in even-numbered years. Agents will have a 31-day period (beginning on December 1, 2014) as a final opportunity to correct any CE deficiencies by completing the required coursework and/or paying the fee. There is no extension into 2015.

Public adjusters: The license term is every 2-years based on the license issue date.

May I re-take a course for credit that I have already completed successfully?

Courses may only be taken for credit once in a 2-year compliance period.

Is there a CE carryover allowance in Virginia?

Excess credit hours are automatically posted to your record for the next biennium following the end of this biennium’s record correction period. However, they will not be applied to your compliance requirements until you pay the nonrefundable $20 Continuance fee. 

Are there any CE exemptions in Virginia?

The following are exempt from CE requirements:

  • A resident or nonresident producer who is at least 65 and can demonstrate that he or she has held any combination of resident or nonresident Virginia licenses of equivalent type continuously for at least 20 years
  • A resident producer who is at least 65 and will have held a Virginia resident license continuously for no fewer than 4 years by the end of the compliance period and can furnish proof of having held equivalent license authority continuously in other states for an additional 16 years, for a total of 20 years of continuous licensing
  • A producer who is at least 65 by the end of the compliance period and has held a resident Virginia license continuously for the past 4 years as well as holding the same license authority for twenty of the past thirty years in Virginia without interruption by license revocation or commission termination
  • Individuals who hold a limited line license, such as credit life/health, travel accident, and travel baggage insurance producers
  • Nonresident producers in good standing with their home state CE requirements. Nonresidents are still required to pay processing fee. (See “CE Completion Reporting” section above for processing fee instructions.)
  • Nonresident public adjusters who are licensed as a public adjuster in their home state and are in good standing.  If the license is terminated, suspended, or revoked in their home state the VA nonresident license will terminate and must be immediately surrendered.  Nonresidents are still required to pay processing fee. (See “CE Completion Reporting” section above for processing fee instructions.)
  • Individuals may request a waiver with good cause; submit to Pearson Vue.
  • Individuals who are licensed in the even-numbered year of the biennium are exempt from continuing education for the current biennium only. However, if you do take any CE courses in the current biennium, you must pay the $20 Continuance fee within the deadlines specified in the Compliance Schedule to have the courses applied to carry over for the subsequent biennium.
How may I contact the state of Virginia?
Virginia Bureau of Insurance
Phone: 804-371-9631 (Agent Licensing)
Fax: 804-371-9349
Web site: www.scc.virginia.gov/division/boi/
 
Mailing Address:
Virginia Bureau of Insurance
Agent Licensing Section
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218-1157
 
Sircon
Phone: 877-876-4430
Fax: 404-656-0874
Web site: www.sircon.com
 
Pearson Vue
Phone: 877-234-6093
Email: InsuranceCE@pearson.com
Web site: www.asisvcs.com
Browse our Virginia Courses

Disclaimer: InsuranceStudy provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither InsuranceStudy nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice. We encourage you to contact the relevant licensing body and/or your carrier to find the most up-to-date and personally relevant requirements.