State CE Requirements for Insurance Continuing Education

Alabama

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, each reporting period

Service representatives or producers who are employed by another producer or insurer: 12 hours (of which 2 should be ethics) per reporting period to work only in the office of the employer and who are not licensed as a non-resident in any other state.

CE Course Restrictions: None. To complete your general CE requirements, you may take any approved course without regard to the type of license you hold.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!
Effective 1/1/2022: Alabama has published an update to its Suitability in Annuity training requirement that requires annuity producers to complete a 4 hour Best Interest Annuity Suitability course.
Flood 3-hour initial course on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)
Long Term Care 8-hour initial course with credit type "Long Term Care"
4-hour refresher course with credit type "Long Term Care" every 24 months
Alaska

Producers: 24 hours (of which 3 should be ethics) required every 2-year license term.

Adjusters: 24 hours (of which 3 should be ethics) required every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: Licensees may complete the 24-hour CE requirement by taking courses in the subject areas of : insurance technical or product information; risk management; insurance law and regulation; mathematics, statistics, and probability; economics; business law; finance; taxation directly related to insurance products; business insurance ethics; licensee professional liability; or business organization, management, and environment, including motivation, psychology, and sales training. No more than 8 CE hours may be completed in the subject areas of business organization, management, and environment, including motivation, psychology, and sales training.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Suitability

Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Alaska, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.

Note: Residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Alaska law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.Producers must also be in compliance with the represented carrier's product training requirements.

Flood Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating federal flood insurance policies in Alaska, producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care products in Alaska, producers must complete an initial 8-hour training course. Note:Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Alaska's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTC training requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour follow-up training course every 24-months following the initial training.

Note:Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Alaska's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Arizona

Producers: 48 credit hours (of which 6 should be ethics) required every license term.

Adjusters: Resident and non-resident adjusters are exempt from CE requirements.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

All producers who hold a life insurance producer license must complete a one time four-hour annuity training course that includes the topic of "best interest" prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating an annuity on the insurer’s behalf.

A producer who completed the original annuity training course requirements prior to 12/31/2020 had a grace period until 6/30/2021 to complete either the new 1 or 4 hour training course. They could sell, solicit and negotiate annuities during that time period.

A producer who has NOT completed the original annuity training course requirements prior to 12/31/2020 or a producer who did not complete the updated training prior to 06/30/2021 is unable to sell, solicit or negotiate annuities until the 4 hour annuity-best interest course has been completed.

Flood All Arizona-licensed resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies are required to complete a one-time 3-hour requirement on flood insurance.
Long Term Care

Initial training requirement: An individual licensee cannot sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance unless the individual is licensed as an accident and health or sickness insurance producer and the individual completes eight hours of Arizona-approved long-term care training. ARS § 20-1691.12(A)(2) A nonresident must either complete an Arizona-approved long-term care training course or satisfy a substantially similar requirement in the licensee's home state. ARS § 20-1691.12(F)

On-going training requirement: An individual licensee must complete four hours of Arizona-approved long-term care training after the two-year period within which the individual completed the initial long-term care training. ARS § 20-1691.12(A)(3) A nonresident must either complete Arizona-approved long-term care training or satisfy a substantially similar requirement in the licensee's home state. ARS § 20-1691.12(F)

Arizona-approved long-term care training means an Arizona-approved insurance continuing education course containing long-term care content as determined by the continuing education administrator. By completing long-term care training, you also earn credit that you can apply toward satisfying Arizona's insurance continuing education requirement.

Arkansas

Producers: 24 hours (of which 3 should be ethics) every 2-year license term.

Adjusters: 24 hours (of which 3 should be ethics) every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements

Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective July 8, 2021. Producers selling annuity products must complete a 4-hour Best Interest Annuity Suitability course.

A producer who has completed the original annuity training course requirements prior to 07/08/2021 has a grace period until 12/31/2021 to complete either the new 1 or 4 hour training course. They may sell, solicit and negotiate annuities during this time period.

A producer who has NOT completed the original annuity training course requirements prior to 07/08/2021 is unable to sell, solicit or negotiate annuities until the 4 hour annuity-best interest course has been completed.

Flood Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). These 3 hours count toward the 24 hours of CE required every 2 years.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in Arkansas, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After meeting the initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training in every 24-month period following the initial training.

California

Property Broker-Agent and/or Casualty Broker-Agent, Personal Lines Broker-Agent, Life-Only and/or Accident and Health licensees: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

Limited Lines Automobile Insurance Agent licensees: 20 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Independent or Public Adjusters: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics every 2-year license term.

Training Restrictions: A licensee can only get credit for approved courses for the license type held.Life-only agents, accident and health agents, property or casualty broker-agents, and personal lines broker-agents must complete three hours of ethics CE training every license term as a part of the requirements. For those licensees who hold one or more of the above named license types, the 24 hours of CE may be completed in courses applicable for any of the license types held.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuities

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling annuities in California, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved annuity training course.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers continuing to sell annuities must complete a 4-hour, state-approved annuity CE course in every 2-year license term following the initial 8-hour training completion. Note that effective January 1, 2014 the eight-hour annuity training course will not satisfy the four-hour annuity training requirement.

Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in California, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 8-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers licensed 4 years or less must complete 8 hours of state-approved LTC training annually for the first 4 years of licensure. (Producers licensed more than 4 years must complete 8 hours of state-approved LTC training in every 2-year license term.)

Important Notice: In order to solicit/sell long-term care insurance in California, agents need to hold a current license as: Life Accident and Health Insurance Agent, and you must comply with the LTC 8-hour training requirements.  If holding a Life-Only Agent license, agents may sell LTC only as an LTC rider on a full life policy, and must also complete the 8-hour training requirements.

Long-Term Care Partnership

MUST BE COMPLETED IN A CLASSROOM

Before selling LTCP insurance products in California, producers must first complete 16 hours of state-approved LTC training. Of these 16 hours, 8 hours must be fulfilled in a state-approved classroom, and 8 hours must be fulfilled by taking a state-approved LTC self-study course.

Ongoing LTC partnership training requirement: After completing the initial 16-hour training requirement, LTCP insurance producers must complete 8 hours of state-approved LTCP training in every 2-year license term, which must be fulfilled in a state-approved classroom.

Flood

All California fire and casualty producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3 hour course relating to National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.

Homeowners' Insurance Valuation

All California fire and casualty broker-agents and personal line broker-agents who negotiate or sell homeowners’ (HO) insurance will be required to complete a one-time 3-hour homeowners’ insurance valuation training course.

Colorado

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: At least eighteen (18) of the twenty-four (24) credit hours shall be in approved courses for the type of license for which the producer is licensed.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Suitability Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Colorado producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.  
Flood All Colorado resident property and casualty or personal lines producers who sell flood insurance are required to complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care

Initial 16-hour training requirement: Before selling LTC policies in Colorado producers must complete 16 hours of state approved LTC training.  Part 1 of the 16 hours shall consist of 8 hours on general LTC, which can be taken online self study or in a classroom, and Part 2 shall consist of 8 hours specific to LTC partnership, which must be taken in a classroom.

Ongoing 5-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 16-hour training, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete no less than 5 hours of ongoing training in a classroom setting every 2 calendar years after the initial completion.

Claims-Made All Colorado resident producers engaged in the sale, consultation, or adjustment of claims-made policies must complete a one-time 2-hour state approved course on claims-made policies.
Homeowners Insurance Coverage Effective January 1, 2014: All Colorado producers licensed to sell property or personal lines insurance must complete three (3) hours of continuing education on homeowner's (HO) insurance coverage each license term. 
Connecticut

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics/law/regulation, every 2-year license term.

Life Settlement Brokers: Resident individuals who hold a Life Settlement Broker license must complete 15 hours of CE every 2 years by March 31st. Life Settlement Broker licenses renew March 31st of each year.  Resident individuals who hold a Life Producer license are exempt from the 15-hour life settlement continuing education requirement.

CE Course Restrictions: 6 CE hours must be in the license type held and a minimum of 3 CE hours must be in a course approved for ethics, law, or regulation. Remaining credits may be of any combination or type.

  • Combination license: required to take a minimum of 6 CE hours in each license type held and a minimum of 3 CE hours must be in a course for ethics, law, or regulation. Remaining credit hours may be of any combination for the license types held.
  • Excess ethics, law, or regulation hours will meet the optional hour requirement only.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Insurance producers who want to sell annuities on or after March 1, 2022, must take Annuity Best Interest (Annuity BI) certification courses offered by approved providers. Updated training courses will include adopted NAIC’s 2020 Model Law #275 best-interest standards, which among other changes, outline the requirement for producers to act in the best interest of the consumer at the time the annuity recommendation is made.

Resident and Non-Resident producers who are already licensed and certified to sell annuity products in Connecticut prior to 3/1/2022 have a 6-month grace period to complete an additional 1-hour of Annuity BI training. Training must be completed no later than August 31, 2022. These producers also have the option to complete a 4-hour Annuity BI certification training course if they desire.

Resident and Non-Resident producers who become licensed on or after 3/1/2022, must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity BI certification training course before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity business in Connecticut.

Substantially similar training completed in another state will be considered to satisfy the training in Connecticut.

Flood All Producers licensed with Property/Casualty or Personal Lines authority are required to complete a one-time 3-hour flood training course. (No longer a requirement as of October 1, 2021)
Long Term Care Partnership (LTCP)

Before a producer can market, discuss or sell any Partnership-approved long-term care insurance policy in Connecticut, he or she must have met certain requirements under the state’s Partnership for Long-Term Care Certification Training Program. These requirements are:

  • The producer must be licensed as an Accident and Health producer in Connecticut and hold a valid license.
  • The producer must meet all of the training requirements under the Partnership’s Certification Training Program.

The Connecticut Partnership Certification Training Program consists of two course components:

  • Completion of an 8-hour Prerequisite Online Course and a passing score of 70 percent or better on the course exam.
  • Attending a live 4-hour classroom course conducted by the State of Connecticut's Office of Policy and Management's CT Partnership for Long-Term Care Program. Only producers who have passed the exam for the Prerequisite Online Course and who hold a valid certificate number from the Online Course will be eligible to register for the Partnership classroom training. 
Delaware

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Adjusters: 12 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 08/01/2021, the state amended its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 2/1/2022.

Producers licensed after the effective date must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood All Delaware licensees who are authorized to write homeowners or personal lines coverage must complete 2 hours of approved CE relating to flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program every 2-year license term. 
Long Term Care

All Delaware health producers who solicit LTC policies must complete at least 3 hours of state-approved Delaware LTC training during the 2-year license term in which the product is solicited. This requirement must be met during the biennium that the long term care policy was solicited, but does not need to be met prior to solicitation of the product.

District of Columbia

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: Producers must complete 3 hours in approved ethics courses. All other hours may be completed by taking courses approved only for the line of authority licensed for.  For L/H and P/C combined licenses, producers are required to complete at least 6 hours in each line of authority.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Suitability Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in the District of Columbia, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. 
Flood All District of Columbia property and casualty producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for flood training during the first 2-year license term. 
Florida

New Ethics Requirement: Enforcement of the 4 Hour Law and Ethics Update requirement will begin for CE cycles that end on or after 1/31/2022. If a licensee has an outstanding CE cycle that was due before 1/31/2022, that licensee should complete a previously approved 5 Hour Law and Ethics Update course.

License Type

License Type Number Compliance Cycles 10/31/2014 or Later
Life 2-16 & 2-14 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-214)
20 house of Elective credits
Health 2-40 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-240)
20 house of Elective credits
Life and Health 2-15 & 2-18 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-215)
20 house of Elective credits
General Lines 2-20 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
20 house of Elective credits
Personal Lines 20-44 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
20 house of Elective credits
Customer Representative 4-40 & 4-42

4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
20 house of Elective credits

Industrial Fire 2-33

4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220)
6 hours of Elective credits

Title** 4-10 3 hours of Ethics, Rules or Compliance***
7 hours of Standard
Public Adjusters* 3-20 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-320)
20 hours of Elective credits
All Lines Adjusters 6-20, 5-20 & 70-20 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-620)
20 hours of Elective credits
Limted Surety (Bail Bond) 2-34 $ 2-37 4 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-237)
10 hours of Elective credits

Note: The table above does not reflect reductions, if applicable. Reductions are applied to the elective category.

*Public Adjusters (03-20) can only satisfy elective credits by taking CE courses specifically approved for Public Adjusters.

***The three-hour ethics requirement will be satisfied by department-approved courses in ethics, rules, or compliance with state and federal regulations relating specifically to title insurance and closing services. The course authority for title agent ethics is currently CE9908.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood All Florida property and casualty producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3 hour course relating to National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care Partnership (LTCP) Before selling LTCP policies in Florida, producers must complete an 8-hour state approved LTCP training course. After completing the initial 8-hour training, producers continuing to sell LTCP must complete a 4-hour ongoing training every 2 calendar years after the initial completion.
Georgia

All Licensees LESS than 20 years of service: 24 hours, including at least 3 hours of ethics, each biennium.

Exceptions:

  • Professional Designations: Licensees holding a professional designation of CLU, BBA in insurance, PHD, CFP, CPCU, AAI, CEBS, ChFC, CIC, FLMI, CRM, or CISR are required to obtain 12 hours/ biennium (min. 3 in Ethics)
  • 20 Years of Service: Licensees with 20 years of licensure agent must complete 20 CE hours every biennium (3 in ethics).
  • Adjuster: Licensees holding the professional designation of Universal Claims Certification (UCC) will be exempt from all continuing education required of adjusters
  • Credit License Only: Licensees with the Credit line of insurance only must complete 10 CE hours every biennium (form GID-101C-AL).
  • Limited Subagents: Licensees with a Ltd. Subagent license must complete 10 CE hours every biennium.
  • Navigator: Licensees must complete 15 CE hours every biennium. No ethics required.
  • Workers Compensation: Licensees Must take 24 hours of CE credits; however, if courses are taken through the Workers Compensation Board Providers, must take only 20 hours.

CE Course Restrictions: Continuing education requirements may be completed in any subject area (line of insurance) for which the
licensee is licensed. Each licensee requires three (3) hours of ethics credit each biennium.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood Agents licensed in the property line of authority that will be selling through the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) must complete a one time 3-hour continuing education course related to NFIP.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in Georgia, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTCP requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour follow-up training course every 24 months after completion of the initial training.

Georgia Medicaid and the Long-Term Care Partnership Program: Residents who have completed another state’s qualified LTCP course will need to complete a 2-hour Georgia specific Medicaid course.

Annuity Suitability Effective March 1st 2016, newly licensed Georgia brokers and producers must complete a four-hour state-approved annuity course before representing annuity products. Those licensed prior to that date have until September 1st, 2016 to complete a course.
Hawaii

Licensee holding ONE of Life/Accident and Health or Sickness, Property/Casualty): 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics or Hawaii insurance laws and rules.

Licensee holding BOTH a Life/Accident and Health or Sickness and Property/Casualty): 24 hours total to include

  • 10 hours relating to the life/accident and health or sickness class of insurance
  • 11 credit hours relating to the property/casualty class of insurance
  • 3 credit hours of ethics or Hawaii insurance laws and rules

CE Course Restrictions: None. To complete your general CE requirements, you may take any approved course without regard to the type of license you hold.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Hawaii, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. 
Flood Agents licensed in the property line of authority that will be selling through the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) must complete a one time 3-hour continuing education course related to NFIP. 
Idaho

Producers: 24 hours, including at least 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: No more than 4 hours of continuing education credit from courses approved for public adjusters shall apply toward the continuation of a producer license.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 7/1/2021: Idaho requires annuity producers to complete a 4 hour Best Interest Annuity Suitability course.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course in another state must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 12/31/2021.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 12/31/2021, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood All insurance producers licensed in property, casualty or personal lines of authority who sell flood insurance through the NFIP must complete a one-time course related to the NFIP which will provide 3 hours of continuing education credit.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Idaho, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, NAIC LTC course approved in any state.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-months thereafter.

Illinois

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: 3 hours of ethics must be completed in a live training format (classroom or webinar). Crop producers can fulfill their CE requirement with course approved for property and casualty.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Illinois, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. 
Flood To comply with the minimum training requirements established by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), producers who sell flood insurance issued through the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) must complete a one-time 3-hour flood training course.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before soliciting or selling LTCI products in Illinois, resident producers must complete an 8-hour LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial training, resident producers must complete a 4-hour course on the subject of long-term care before the end of the renewal period.

Note:  If a producer fails to complete the 4-hour Ongoing training course prior to the license renewal, the producer will have 12 months from that license renewal date to complete the 4-hour ongoing training, without having to repeat the Initial 8-hour training course.

Viatical and Life Settlements

All life agents who also hold a Viatical Settlement Broker license and sell viatical life settlement policies must complete at least 4 hours CE course in viatical settlements every 24 months. 

Indiana

Producers (Accident & Health, Life, Property & Casualty, Personal Lines): 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Title Only Producer: 7 CE hours every 2-year license term.

Bail Agent or Recovery Agent: 6 CE hours every 2-year license term.

Adjusters: 24 CE hours every 2-year license term.

Resident Navigator: 2 CE hours every 1-year license term.

Consultant, Public Adjuster, Portable Electronics, Travel Insurance, and Surplus Lines: No CE requirement.

Producer (Credit, Crop, Funeral Director/Prearranged Funeral): No CE requirement.

CE Course Restrictions: Multi-line producers holding a Title license must complete 7 hours of Title CE as part of their 24 hour requirement.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Indiana, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. 
Flood All Indiana property and casualty producers who sell flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before marketing, selling, or soliciting any LTC products, a producer must initially complete an 8-hour basic LTC continuing education course specifically approved for LTC. The 8 hours may be counted as part of the required CE credits for the compliance period in which they were completed.

Ongoing 5-hour LTC training requirement: Producers satisfying the initial 8-hour requirement must complete a minimum of 5 hours of LTC insurance courses every 2 years.

Long Term Care Partnership

Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP) Long-Term Care Partnership program requirement: Producers who will sell LTC policies under the Indiana Long-Term Care Partnership (ILTCP) program must satisfy a one-time 7-hour training requirement in addition to the initial 8-hour LTC training requirement, for a total of 15 hours. The 7-hour ILTCP must be completed in a classroom.

Iowa

Producers: 36 total CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 3-year license term.

Crop Line of Authority ONLY: 18 total CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 3-year license term.

Public Adjusters: 24 total CE hours including 2 credits on the topic of ethics every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 1/1/2021: Iowa amended its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 6/30/2021.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 06/30/2021, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood Resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
Indexed Insurance All producers selling indexed life products must complete a one-time 4 credit-hour training course.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: A one-time training course of at least 8 CE credits in subjects related to long-term care insurance must be completed prior to selling any long-term care insurance. This training course is required to be in a classroom setting; however, LTC Connection has received a waiver from the IA Insurance Division stating our 8-hour self-study course may be taken to satisfy this requirement.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: Following the initial training, producers continuing to sell LTC insurance must complete ongoing training of 4 CE credits in subjects related to long-term care insurance every three-year CE term afterward

Kansas

Individual Licensed agents whose biennial renewal dates are on or before December 31, 2021, must complete the following credit hours of approved education:

  • Agents holding property or casualty qualifications, or both -- 12 hours - 1 hour must be ethics, only 3 hours of agency management is allowed.
  • Agents holding life, accident and health, or variable contracts qualifications -- 12 hours - 1 hour must be ethics, only 3 hours of agency management is allowed.
  • Agents holding crop only qualifications -- 2 crop only hours
  • Agents holding title only qualifications -- 4 title only hours

 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022

Life and Health Producers: 18 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Property and Casualty Producers: 18 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Life/Health and Property/Casualty (combined license) Producers: 18 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Crop Only Producers: 2 CE hours are required every 2 year license term. 

Title Only Producers: 4 CE hours are required every 2 year license term.

Public Adjusters: 12 CE hours, including 1 hour of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Bail Bond License, Self-Service Storage License, or Travel License: No continuing education requirement for these limited lines licenses.

CE Course Restrictions: Crop producers do not have an ethics requirement; therefore all hours must be completed in approved Crop courses. Public Adjusters must complete 1 hour in approved ethics courses.  All other hours must be completed in approved property/casualty courses.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Kansas producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. 
Flood All Kansas producers authorized to sell flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 
Long Term Care Partnership (LTCP)

Initial 4-hour LTCP training requirement: All Kansas producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate LTC partnership policies must complete 4 hours of state-approved Kansas LTCP training. Producers may take any NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Ongoing 1-hour LTCP training requirement: After completing the 4-hour initial training requirement, LTCP producers must complete 1 hour of state-approved Kansas LTCP training each 2-year license term thereafter. Producers may take any NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Kentucky

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Life Settlement Broker: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of life settlements, 3 hours of life insurance, and 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: At least 6 of the 24 required CE hours must be completed in a line of authority held by the licensee, EXCEPT adjusters who may take all courses in property and casualty.  Excess ethics hours will go towards the optional hour requirement only.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 1/1/2022: Kentucky has updated its Suitability in Annuities training requirement to the Best Interest standard.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 6/30/2022.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 06/30/2022, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood All Kentucky property producers authorized to sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care Partnership (LTCP)

Initial 8-hour LTCP training requirement: All Kentucky producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate LTC partnership policies must complete 8 hours of state-approved Kentucky LTCP training before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTCP policies. Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Ongoing 4-hour LTCP training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, LTCP producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved Kentucky LTCP training each 2-year license term thereafter. Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Louisiana

Producers: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2 year licensing term.

Adjusters: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2 year licensing term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Louisiana, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. 
Flood All Louisiana property and casualty licensees must complete a 3-hour course approved for flood training every renewal cycle.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC/LTCP insurance products, a producer must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved LTC/LTCP training course. *If producer has previously completed this requirement in another state they will be considered compliant with the Louisiana requirement.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial training, resident producers must complete a 4-hour ongoing training course within two years of the initial training.

Maine

Producers: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 1/1/2022: Maine amended its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 6/30/2022.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 06/30/2022, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood Maine producers who also sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 
Long Term Care (LTC)

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in Maine, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, LTC producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every renewal cycle.

Maryland

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: Licensees must take CE courses that pertain to the lines of insurance that they hold on their producer license(s). Please refer to the Continuing Education Requirements Grid.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity 4-hour initial Annuity Suitability Course
Bail Bonds 4 hours in course designated for credit type "Bail Bond" as part of P/C hours
Flood 2 hours in course designated for credit type "Flood" as part of P/C hours
Long Term Care

2 hours in course designated for credit type "Long Term Care" as part of L/H hours

Long Term Care Partnership

8-hour initial Long Term Care Partnership course
4-hour refresher Long Term Care Partnership course every two years after

Massachusetts

Producers: 60 CE hours* of CE instruction is required during the first 36-month period following the date of initial licensure. After the initial term, producers are required to complete 45 CE hours every subsequent 36-month compliance period. *New* insurance producers must now complete a program of instruction or attend a seminar on ethics equivalent to 3 ethics hours of instruction.

Public Insurance Adjusters: 15 CE hours are required every 3-year CE compliance period.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuities Effective July 1, 2016 producers and brokers must complete an annuity course approved by the Division of Insurance of at least four hours in length and meet carrier producer training requirements. Producers licensed prior to the effective date have until December 31, 2016 to complete training. Completing a course in another state with similar requirements will satisfy the Massachusetts requirement.
Flood All Massachusetts property and casualty producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care

*Effective January 23, 2013: Initial 8-hour training requirement: All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate long-term care products in Massachusetts must complete a one-time state approved training course of at least 8-hours by July 1, 2014. Producers licensed on or after January 23, 2013 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTC training requirement, producers must complete a 4 hour follow-up training course every 24-months following the initial training.

Michigan

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: If a licensee completes more than 3 credits in ethics, the additional credits beyond the 3 required ethics credits will count toward the "other" 21 credits needed.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Michigan is updating its Suitability in Annuity training requirement effective 6/29/2020 to the Best Interest standard.

Producers licensed prior to 06/29/2020 who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 12/29/2021.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or who do not complete the training update prior to 12/31/2021, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood All Michigan producers who are authorized to sell flood insurance must complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 
Long Term Care (LTC)

Initial LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Michigan, producers must complete an initial state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing LTC training requirement: After completing the initial training requirement, producers must complete state-approved LTC training every 24 months thereafter.

Minnesota

Producers: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every license term.

CE Course Restrictions: Insurance producers may take all continuing education hours over the Internet or via other verifiable self-study, but only half of the required Continuing Education hours may be obtained through company-sponsored courses.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.
Flood Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). 
Long Term Care (LTC)

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Minnesota, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24 months thereafter.

Mississippi

New Insurance Producers, Public Adjusters and Independent Adjusters (Less than 18 months): 12 CE hours

Existing Insurance Producers, Public Adjusters and Independent Adjusters (in effect for 19-24 months): 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics.

Professional Bail Agents, Soliciting Bail Agents and Bail Enforcement Agents: 16 CE hours with 8 hours completed each year.

CE Course Restrictions: Credit must be taken in the line of authority for the type of license held.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 1/1/2022: Mississippi amended its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 6/30/2022.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 06/30/2022, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood

Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Missouri

Life and/or Health, Property and/or Casualty, Multiple License: 16 credit hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics, per license term.

Title: 8 credit hours of CE per license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Effective March 30, 2017, producers and brokers must complete an annuity course approved by the commissioner of at least four hours in length and meet carrier producer training requirements. Producers licensed prior to the effective date have until September 1st, 2017 to complete training.
Flood Producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course related to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) requirement. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour training requirement: A producer may not sell, solicit, or negotiate a qualified LTC Partnership Plan unless he or she is licensed for both life and health and has completed an initial 8-hour training course pre-approved by the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Regulation (DIFP).

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete a 4-hour ongoing training course, pre-approved by the Missouri DIFP, during each 2-year license term, thereafter.

Montana

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics and 1 hour of legislative changes to the Montana statutes, every 2-year license term.

Limited Lines Credit Only Producers: 5 CE hours, including 1 hour of legislative changes to the Montana statutes, are required every 2 year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood All Montana property/casualty producers and adjusters who sell flood insurance should complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training if instructed to do so by their insurer. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Montana, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course. Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: From the date of completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24 months thereafter. Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Nebraska

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Crop Only Producers: 6 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, required every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 07/1/2021: Nebraska amended its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 12/31/2021.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 12/31/2021, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood All Nebraska property and casualty producers authorized to sell flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTCP training requirement: All Nebraska health or sickness and accident producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate LTCP policies must complete 8 hours of state-approved Nebraska LTCP training before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTCP policies. Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Ongoing 4-hour LTCP training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved Nebraska LTCP training every 2 years thereafter. Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Nevada

Producers: 30 credit hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 3-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood Nevada fire and casualty producers who also sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in Nevada, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course. 

Ongoing 4-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTCP requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour follow-up training course every 24 months after completion of the initial training.

New Hampshire

Producers: 24 hours, including at least 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Public Adjusters: 15 CE hours are required every 2 years.

Multi-Line Adjusters and Workers' Compensation Adjusters: 24 hours, including at least 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Life Settlement Producers: 15 hours of training in the subject of life settlements and life settlement transactions required annually.

CE Course Restrictions: Producers may take any New Hampshire-approved producer course to meet the requirement with a maximum of 10 hours on the topic of ethics. Producers may not take courses approved for adjusters only. Multi-line adjusters may take courses approved for multi-line or workers' compensation. Workers' compensation adjusters must take 24 hours in approved adjuster courses, of which a minimum of 10 hours must be in courses approved for workers' compensation credit. Public adjusters must take public adjuster courses only. CE must be completed 60 days prior to license expiration date.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products. 
Flood All New Hampshire property insurance producers must complete a one-time course related to the National Flood Insurance Program requirement. The licensee will receive 3 hours of CE credits for completing the course. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC Partnership insurance products in New Hampshire, a producer must be licensed with the Accident and Health or Sickness or Life line of authority; and have completed eight (8) hours of approved initial LTCP training. The satisfaction of these training requirements in any state shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements in New Hampshire.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: A 4-hour follow-up course must be completed every 2 years thereafter completion of initial training. The satisfaction of these training requirements in any state shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements in New Hampshire.

New Jersey

Producers: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

Public Adjusters: 15 CE hours are required every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products. 
Flood Licensees who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in New Jersey, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, NAIC LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training.

New Mexico

Licensees: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every compliance period.

Title: 10 hours on title insurance, including 3 hours specifically on the proper handling of escrow funds.

Limited Surety Agents, Property Bondsmen, Solicitors and Bail Bond Solicitors: 14 hours of approved courses covering the Bail Bondsmen Licensing Law, Sections 59A-1-1 et seq. NMSA 1978 and related regulations during each two-year compliance period.

CE Course Restrictions: A minimum of three hours of continuing education course hours for each compliance period must be earned through participation in a formal classroom or in another learning format that permits the student to interact with a live instructor. Courses must cover some or all of the kinds of insurance for which they are licensed during each compliance period.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood All producers selling policies through the National Flood Insurance Program must complete a flood insurance course of at least 3 hours before selling the product.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in North Dakota, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period.

New York

Licensees: 15 hours every 2-year license term.

Adjusters: 15 hours every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: You must take courses that are approved for your specific class of license.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity

Regulation 187 (Part 224 of Title 11 of the Official Compilation of the State of New York) requires insurers set forth standards and procedures for recommendations to consumers with respect to annuity contracts so that the insurance needs and financial objectives of the consumers are appropriately addressed. This part applies to any recommendation to purchase or replace an annuity contract made on or after June 30, 2011.These standards and procedures are substantially similar to the NAIC Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model Regulation.

Section 224.4 (g) & (h) holds the insurance company responsible for ensuring that every producer recommending its annuity products is adequately trained to make the recommendation, however, the regulation does not require the completion of specific training classes.

Flood All New York Producers authorized to sell flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 
Long Term Care

A New York licensed producer who has the accident/health line of authority on their agent license issued under Section 2103(a) of the Insurance Law (prefix of LA), or on their broker license issued under Section 2104 (b)(1)(A) of the Insurance Law (prefix of LB) or is licensed a broker under Section 2104(B) of the Insurance Law (prefix of BR) is authorized to sell long term care insurance in New York.

To sell partnership, please contact the Department of Health

North Carolina

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every biennial compliance period.

Adjusters: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every biennial compliance period.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
   
Flood

All resident licensees that hold a property, personal lines, or adjuster license, and nonresident adjusters with North Carolina CE requirements, must complete 3 hours of flood in their first compliance period and then every other compliance period thereafter (every 4 years).

Long Term Care Partnership

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care partnership products, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved training course.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTCP training requirement, producers must complete a 4 hour follow-up training course every 24-month compliance period following the initial training.

Note: Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to North Carolina's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement only if the insurance company chooses to accept the training completed in another state.

Special License required: Producers must hold a Medicare Supplement/LTC license. The prerequisite to hold this license is the Accident, Health, and Sickness license. Producer must complete 10 hours of pre-licensing LTC/Medicaid education and pass a state examination. A non-resident is exempt from the pre-licensing education and exam, but must apply for the LTC license. To do so, they must be qualified for LTC in their resident state and hold a North Carolina Life & Health License. For more information about this requirement, please review the Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP) Licensees Frequently Asked Questions from the NC Department of Insurance/Agent Services Division.

North Dakota

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 1/1/2022: North Dakota amended its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 6/30/2022.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 06/30/2022, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in North Dakota, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period.

Ohio

Major Lines Agents: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Title: Persons holding only a title license need to complete 12 hours of CE, 10 of which must be approved as title specific and 2 of which must be approved as ethics specific, prior to renewing their license.

Surety Bail:  7 credit hours of CE, 6 of which must be approved as surety bail bond-specific and 1 of which must be approved as ethics-specific, prior to renewing their license.

Viatical Settlement Brokers: 15 credit hours, all of which must be approved as Viatical-specific credit.

Major Lines Agents + Title: 24 credit hours of CE, 10 of which must be approved as title-specific and 3 of which must be approved as ethics-specific.

Major Lines Agents + Surety Bail: 24 credit hours of CE, 12 of which must be approved as surety bail bond-specific and 3 of which must be approved as ethics-specific.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Ohio has upgraded its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 9/30/2021.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or who did not complete the required update prior to the deadline, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood Before selling flood insurance, licensees must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program. New licensees must comply with flood training before their first CE compliance date. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Ohio, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month compliance period following completion of the initial LTC training.

Oklahoma

Resident Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours in legislative updates.

Title: 16 hours, including 2 hours of ethics and 2 hours of legislative updates.

Customer Service Representatives (CSRs): 13 CE hours, including 3 hours in ethics and 2 hours in legislative updates.

CE Course Restrictions: A licensee holding a property line of authority is required to complete a 1 hour earthquake course, which will be counted as part of the 19 hour general requirement.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Producers that sell, solicit, or negotiate Annuity products are required to take a onetime 4 hour course on Annuity products.
Earthquake All producers with a Property line of authority are required to take 1 hour in earthquake insurance per renewal cycle.
Long Term Care

Producers that sell, solicit, or negotiate long term care insurance must take the initial 8 hour long term care partnership course prior to offering this type of product and complete a 4 hour long term care partnership course each renewal cycle thereafter.

Oregon

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics and 3 hours of Oregon law (statutes & administrative rules), required every 2-year license term.

Adjusters: No continuing education is required for adjusters or consultants.

CE Course Restrictions: No more than four hours is allowed for approved agency management courses.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Oregon, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.
Flood All Oregon property producers who sell flood insurance must complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Oregon, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course. Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training in every 24-month period thereafter. Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Pennsylvania

Producers: 24 hours required every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood Before selling flood insurance, licensees must complete a one-time, 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour training requirement:  Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care partnership products, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved training course. 

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTC training requirement, producers must complete a 4 hour follow-up training course every 24-month compliance period following the initial training.

Puerto Rico

Producers: 24 CE hours are required every 2-year license term to include

  • 3 hours of Ethics
  • 4 hours Legislative (to include this criterion, the Rule 52 was amended in 9/4/2014)
  • 17 hours General
     
Rhode Island

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 4/1/2021: Rhode Island amended its previous Suitability in Annuities training requirement to a Best Interest training requirement.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 09/30/2021.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 09/30/2021, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Rhode Island, producers must complete an initial 8-hour NAIC LTC course approved in any state.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period.

South Carolina

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Multi-Line Producers: Producers with both a property and casualty and life, accident and health license must complete 24 hours of CE credits. A minimum of 8 credit hours must be completed in each line of authority and a minimum of 3 credit hours of Ethics.

Producers with Reduced Compliance Requirements: Producers with reduced compliance requirements (15 hours) must complete 12 hours in the line of authority held and 3 hours of Ethics. Multi-line producers with reduced compliance requirements (15
hours) must complete 6 hours in each line of authority and 3 hours of ethics. Failure to comply by the last day of the producer’s birth month will result in the license being expired. The law allowing reduced CE compliance was repealed January 1, 2010. This Section applies only to those producers who were granted a reduced CE compliance prior to January 1, 2010.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Effective September 25, 2011:  All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by March 25, 2012.  All producers licensed on or after September 25, 2011 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.
Flood All South Carolina producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3 hour course relating to National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in South Carolina, producers must complete an initial 8-hour LTC training course

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, LTC producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training every 24 months from the initial 8 hour course completion date.

South Dakota

Life/Health only

10 hours

Property/Casualty only

10 hours

Life/Health and Property/Casualty

10 hours Life/Health and 10 hours Property/Casualty

Crop only

4 hours

Crop and Life/Health

2 hours Crop and 8 hours Life/Health

Crop and Property/Casualty

2 hours Crop and 8 hours Property/Casualty

Crop, Property/Casualty and Life/Health

2 hours Crop, 8 hours Property/Casualty and 10 hours Life/Health

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity All licensed producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.
Flood Producers who sell federal flood insurance must complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 
Long Term Care Partnership (LTC/P)

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in South Dakota, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training by July 1st in even years. 

Tennessee

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

Combination Multi-Peril Crop Adjuster and Life and Health OR Property and Casualty Producers: 48 CE hours, including 4 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Suitability in Annuities training requirements is effective November 1, 2015. Existing producers have until 5/1/2016 to complete a one-time 4 hour annuity course; producers hired after must complete a course before representing annuities.  
Flood Resident producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in Tennessee, producers must complete an initial 8-hour training course.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After meeting the initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training in every 24-month period following the initial training.

Texas

Producers and Adjusters: 24 CE hours are required every 2-year license term. 2 hours of the required 24 CE hours must be in ethics and/or consumer protection (EFFECTIVE 09/01/2021, the ethics requirement will increase from 2 hours to 3 hours). Those who hold more than one license are not required to complete more than 24 hours (including 2 hours of ethics and/or consumer protection).

Limited Lines Producers: 10 CE hours are required every 2-year license term. 2 hours of the required 10 CE hours must be in ethics and/or consumer protection (EFFECTIVE 09/01/2021, the ethics requirement will increase from 2 hours to 3 hours). Producers who hold more than one license are not required to complete more than 10 hours (including 2 hours of ethics and/or consumer protection).

CE Course Restrictions: Producers must complete at least 50% of their required CE in certified classroom or classroom equivalent courses; up to 50% of the required hours may be completed with self-study courses.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Texas has updated its Suitability in Annuities training requirement to the Best Interest standard effective 9/1/2021. Any producer that completes a 4 hour Annuity Suitability course prior to 12/31/2021 may complete a 1 hour Best Interest update course.

Residents must take Texas courses. Non-resident producers may complete a four hour Best Interest course in another state that has implemented the Best Interest training requirement or may take a four hour Suitability in Annuities course in another state plus a 1 hour Texas Best Interest update course.

Flood To comply with the minimum training requirements established by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), producers who sell standard flood insurance policies issued through the National Flood Insurance Program must complete a one-time 3-hour department-certified flood training course. 
Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP)

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Licensed LAH producers who plan to sell long-term care insurance in conjunction with Texas’s partnership program are required to first complete Department of Insurance-qualified and Texas-specific 8-hour LTC partnership certification training. The training must be completed no later than the date on which a represented carrier introduces a partnership policy. The 8 hours of LTC partnership training may be counted toward the producer’s CE requirement. Licensees who are exempt from Continuing Education are not exempt from the initial training requirement. 

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: In each license term following the term in which the initial 8-hour course was completed, producers who continue to sell LTC partnership insurance must complete 4 hours of department-certified LTC training as part of their general CE requirements. Licensees who are exempt from Continuing Education are not exempt from the ongoing training requirement.

Medicare

Initial 8-hour training requirement: All producers who sell Medicare-related products must receive 8 hours of professional training prior to selling such products. Licensees who are exempt from Continuing Education are not exempt from the initial training requirement.

Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: In each license term following the term in which the initial 8-hour certification course was completed, producers who continue to sell Medicare-related products must complete 4 hours of department-certified Medicare-related training as part of their general CE requirements. Licensees who are exempt from Continuing Education are not exempt from the ongoing training requirement.

Small Employer Health Benefit Plan

Initial 8-hour training requirement: Licensed general life, accident, and health producers can aquire the specialty certification by complete the initial 8-hour course in Small Employer Health Benefit Plans and pass the exam.

Ongoing 5-hour training requirement: To retain the certification, producers must complete at least 5 hours of certified Small Employer Health Benefit Plans continuing education during each reporting period.

Exemptions: Individuals that are exempt from these requirements include those who hold one of the following designations

  • Registered Health Underwriter (RHU)
  • Certified Employere Benefit Apecialist (CEBS)
  • Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC)

 

Utah

Producers and Adjusters: 24 hours including 3 hours of ethics.

Title: 12 hours including 3 hours of ethics.

CE Course Restrictions: 50% of the required CE hours must be in classroom or approved online classroom equivalent courses. No more than 50% of the training may be from courses provided by insurers. Outside of the ethics requirement, the remaining training can be from any line of insurance so long as the course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood Utah producers who also sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 5-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training. 
Long Term Care

Initial 3-hour LTC training requirement:  Before selling LTC insurance products in Utah, producers must complete an initial 3-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Ongoing 3-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 3-hour training requirement, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete 3 hours of state-approved LTC training during every 24-month licensing period after the period in which they completed the initial training.

Vermont

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood Producers with Property and Casualty authorities who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program. 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Producers licensed to sell LTC insurance products in Vermont after March 31, 2010, must complete a one-time initial 8-hour NAIC LTC training course before they can sell, solicit, or negotiate LTC Products. 2 hours must contain Vermont-specific information including Vermont Medicaid information. 

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training on or before March 31 of odd-numbered calendar years.

Virginia

Producers (Single License): 16 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics (which may include VA laws and regulations), every 2-year license term.

Producers (Multiple License): 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics (which may include VA laws and regulations), every 2-year license term.

Public Adjuster: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours in ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: Life, Annuities, and Health is considered a single license for CE purposes. There is a minimum of 8 credits applicable to each license type held. No more than 75% of your required credits may be obtained from courses provided by insurance companies or agencies. Resident public adjusters may take Property and Casualty, Mitigation, Flood Public Adjuster and Ethics. Public Adjusters will not receive CE credit for Virginia Insurance Law and Regulation or Other General Insurance courses.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Best Interest
Updated Training Requirement!

Effective 9/1/2021: Virginia requires annuity producers to complete a 4 hour Best Interest Annuity Suitability course.

Producers licensed prior to the effective date who previously complete a 4 hour Suitability in Annuities course in another state must complete either a 4 hour Best Interest course or a 1 hour Best Interest Update course no later than 03/01/2022.

Producers licensed after the effective date, or those who do not complete the update training prior to 03/01/2022, must complete a 4 hour Best Interest course prior to selling annuity products.

Flood Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Virginia, producers must complete an initial 8-hour LTC course.  IMPORTANT: The initial training must consist of 6 hours of general LTC topics and 2 hours of LTC Partnership topics.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training every 24-month period. The ongoing training must consist of 2 hours of general LTC topics and 2 hours of LTC Partnership topics.

Note: Failure to complete the ongoing 4-hour training course within 24 months of completion of the Initial 8-hour training course, will forfeit recognition of the Initial 8-hour training course by the Virginia Department of Insurance, and will result in the Initial 8-hour training course having to be repeated.

Washington

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, each reporting period

Adjusters - New in 2021: A continuing education requirement for all resident adjusters was added as part of SHB 1037 (see section 2 of the bill). All adjusters (independent, public and crop) who are licensed as a resident of this state or who have declared Washington as their designated home state will be required to complete 24 hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics training. This must be completed during each license renewal period of two years. Resident adjusters are highly encouraged to complete CE hours pertinent to their profession. The CE requirement will go into effect July 1, 2022. Resident adjusters whose license renewal is July 31, 2022, will be the first to be required to meet this new requirement, as well as all resident adjuster licensees after July 2022.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity

Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.

Note: Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Washington law will be deemed compliant for the Washington requirement.

Flood All Washington producers who sell flood insurance must complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course. Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: From the date of completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24 months thereafter. Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

West Virginia

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, each reporting period

Limited Lines:  Producers who sell only pre-need burial insurance contracts or who engage solely in telemarketing insurance products using a scripted presentation that has been filed with and approved by the Insurance Commissioner must complete 6 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in West Virginia producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.
Flood Resident producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). 
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training Requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in West Virginia producers must complete a one-time state-approved training course of no less than 8 hours.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training Requirement: A 4-hour state-approved follow-up course must be completed every 2-year licensing period after the period in which initial training was completed. LTC training courses count toward the producer’s 24-hour CE requirement.

Wisconsin

Producers – Life & Health and Property & Casualty: 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Annuity

Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Wisconsin, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by the Wisconsin OCI. 

Flood Wisconsin property and casualty producers who also sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) flood training. 
Life Settlement Brokers

Initial 8-Hour Life Settlement Broker Training: Individuals applying for a Life Settlement Broker license must complete an initial training course of not less than 8 hours prior to applying for the license. *Satisfaction of the training requirements in another state that are substantially similar to the requirements of Wisconsin will be deemed to satisfy Wisconsin's requirement. To be considered substantial the course would have to be approved for at least the minimum number of credit hours and include the topics outlined in Wisconsin statute (632.69 (3), Wis. Stat., and s. Ins 2.18 (4), Wis. Adm. Code).

Ongoing 4-Hour Life Settlement Broker Training: Individual Life Settlement Brokers must complete 2 hours of ongoing training every year for a total of 4 hours every 24 months.

Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in Wisconsin, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course, of which 2 hours must contain Wisconsin-specific Medicaid and long-term care information.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completion of the initial training, all intermediaries must complete one 4-hour training course specific to long-term care insurance every 24 months concurrent with each individual's license renewal period, of which 1 hour must contain Wisconsin-specific Medicaid training.

Wyoming

Producers: 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.

CE Course Restrictions: The number of insurance company sponsored CE hours shall not exceed 50% of the total requirement.

 

Special Training Education Requirements
Flood All Wyoming property and casualty producers who sell federal flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
Long Term Care

Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC in Wyoming, licensees must complete an initial 8-hour training course. Completing training requirements in any state satisfies the training requirements in Wyoming.

Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state approved LTC  training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-months thereafter.  Completing training requirements in any state satisfies the training requirements in Wyoming.

Annuity Suitability Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Wyoming, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.

 

Disclaimer: InsuranceStudy provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither InsuranceStudy nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice. We encourage you to contact the relevant licensing body and/or your carrier to find the most up-to-date and personally relevant requirements.