Florida Insurance CE


Continuing Education That Is:

Convenient

Same-day processing

Study at your own pace

Unlimited free exam retakes

Affordable

Low prices + High quality

No hidden or recurring fees

Unlimited CE memberships

Compliant

100% state approved

Expert, friendly staff

Satisfaction guaranteed

Browse our Florida Courses

Are you an approved provider of CE in Florida?

Yes. Our Florida state approval number is: 363175.

How long will it take to have my credits processed?

Most students will have their credits processed the same day on which they complete their final exam. If a course is completed outside of our normal business hours, these credits will be processed on the morning of the next business day. Once your credits have been successfully filed, you will receive a notification email that also contains your Certificate of Completion.

Do I need a proctor during my exam?

Florida insurance continuing education will require you to complete an Affidavit of Personal Responsibility as part of the exam process. *New!* The affidavit is now completed online as part of the final exam.

What are the requirements for my course's final exam?

Self-study final exams are closed book. Licensees may not refer to the course material while the exam is in progress.

The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. Students have unlimited attempts to pass the exam.

Are there filing fees in Florida?

No. There are no processing fees in this state.

Are there time limits on my course or exam?

No. You may spend as much time with the course material as you feel necessary, and you may come and go from that material as often as you like. There is no time limit on our exams, however all exams must be completed within one sitting. Once started, if an exam is abandoned for any reason you will need to begin that exam from the beginning when you next return.

Do take special note that every course has an expiration date, which is based on both the state approval and your website purchase date. In order to receive credit you must complete the course before that expiration date.

What are the resident CE requirements in Florida?

Life & Health (2-15 & 2-18)

Licensed LESS than 6 years
24 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-215), are required every 2 year license term.

Licensed 6 years or MORE
20 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-215), are required every 2 year license term.

Life & Annuity (2-14 & 2-16)

Licensed LESS than 6 years
24 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-214), are required every 2 year license term.

Licensed 6 years or MORE
20 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-214), are required every 2 year license term.

Health Only (2-40)

Licensed LESS than 6 years
24 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-240), are required every 2 year license term.

Licensed 6 years or MORE
20 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-240), are required every 2 year license term.

Property & Casualty (2-20)

Licensed LESS than 6 years
24 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-220), are required every 2 year license term.

Licensed 6 years or MORE
20 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-220), are required every 2 year license term.

Customer Service Representatives (440)

10 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-220), are required every 2 year license term.

Limited CSR (442)

10 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-220), are required every 2 year license term

Adjuster (324)

Compliance Periods ending on or after 10/31/2014

Licensed LESS than 6 years
24 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-620), are required every 2 year license term.

Licensed 6 years or MORE
20 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-620), are required every 2 year license term.

Public Adjuster (3-20)

Licensed LESS than 6 years
24 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-320), are required every 2 year license term.

Licensed 6 years or MORE
20 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course (5-320), are required every 2 year license term.

Combination License - Life/Health (2-14, 2-15, 2-16, 2-18) AND/OR Property/Casualty Producers (2-20) AND/OR Adjusters

Licensed LESS than 6 years
24 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course* are required every 2 year license term.

Licensed 6 years or MORE
20 CE hours*, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course* are required every 2 year license term.

Title License (4-10)

10 CE hours*, including 3 hours of ethics (9908), are required every 2-year license term.

 

Special Training/Education Requirements*

Category restrictions

Courses must be taken in the specific license type held.  The following guidelines are for CE compliance cycles ending 9/30/2014 or sooner.  For information regarding CE compliance cycles ending 10/31/2014 or later, click here.

  • Licensed LESS than 6 years - Licensees cantake basic, intermediate or advanced level courses.

  • Licensed 6 years or MORE - Licenseesmust take intermediate or advanced level courses to receive continuing education credit.

  • Limited Customer Service Representatives (CSR) - Limited CSR's may complete their requirement by taking courses listed in the course matrix under the 4-42 authority as well as any course approved for ethics (9908).

  • Customer Service Representatives and Limited CSR’s must complete the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course for the 220 line of authority.

  • Combination Licensees with less than 6 years - Licensees must complete 10 CE hours in each major category including 3 hours in Senior Suitability and 1 hour in Premium Discounts/Mitigation Options. To view your specific scenario please click here.

  • Combination Licensees with more than 6 years - Must complete 8 CE hours in each major category including 3 hours in Senior Suitability and 1 hour in Premium Discounts/Mitigation Options.  To view your specific scenario please click here.

  • Title agents may only complete courses approved for title agents.

  • Public adjusters may only complete courses approved for public adjusters.

 

Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP)

Before selling LTCP policies in Florida, producers must complete an 8-hour state approved LTCP training course. After completing the initial 8-hour training, producers continuing to sell LTCP must complete a 4-hour ongoing training every 2 calendar years after the initial completion.

 

Flood Insurance

All Florida property and casualty producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3 hour course relating to National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.

What are the non-resident CE requirements in Florida?

Florida Law requires that in order for a Nonresident Title Agent or Title Agency to obtain a license in Florida, the applicant's home state (where they live or have a principal place of business) must offer Resident and Non-Resident Title licenses and the applicant MUST pass the Florida Title Agent Examination.  For a list of eligible (reciprocating) and non-eligible states, click here.

When do I need to have my CE completed?

The license term is every 2 years ending on the last day of the licensee's birth month after the licensee has been licensed 24 months. For example:

  • Licensed - July 11, 2009

    Birth Month - June

    Compliance start date - July 1, 2010

    Due date - June 30, 2012

 

  • Licensed - July 11, 2010

    Birth Month - November

    Compliance start date - December 1, 2010

    Due date - November 30, 2012

 

  • Licensed - July 11, 2010

    Birth Month - July

    Compliance start date - August 1, 2010

    Due date - July 31, 2012

May I re-take a course for credit that I have already completed successfully?

Licensees cannot repeat the same course within 3 years from the original course completion date and receive CE credit. 

Is there a CE carryover allowance in Florida?

Up to 24 hours of excess CE can be carried over to the next license term. Ethics (9908), Senior Suitability (9911) and Premium Discounts (9910) courses will be carried over as their respective categories. Courses carried forward will not be counted as duplicate if taken 3 calendar years after the initial completion date. 

Are there any CE exemptions in Florida?

The following exemptions are available:

  • Individuals with a limited lines license that an exam is not required.
  • Individuals with any of the following limited licenses: dental representative, motor vehicle physical damage and mechanical breakdown agent and crop hail and multiple peril crop agent
  • Individuals who are officials or employees of a government entity and whose job description requires them to say current on insurance issues. Request for approval from the Florida Department of Financial Services is required.
  • Agents who meet their CE requirements in their home state will be exempt form the FL CE requirement. Proof of compliance must be by letter of certification or by the Department searching the producer database.
  • Adjusters who meet their CE requirements in their home state which reciprocates with FL or if not licensed in their home state, in another nonresident state that reciprocates with FL meets the FL CE requirement. Proof of compliance must be by letter of certification or by the Department searching the producer database. For a complete list of reciprocating states click here.
How may I contact the state of Florida?

Florida Department of Insurance
Phone: (850) 413-3137
Fax: (850) 413-3291
Email: education@myfloridacfo.com

Mailing Address:
200 E. Gaines St.
Room 419 Larson Building
Tallahassee, FL. 32399

Browse our Florida Courses

Disclaimer: InsuranceStudy provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither InsuranceStudy nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice. We encourage you to contact the relevant licensing body and/or your carrier to find the most up-to-date and personally relevant requirements.