Cyber Risks: Insurance - SC

Insurance Continuing Education in South Carolina

Add to Cart

$19.95

5 credit hours

Price includes
CE Course :
$14.95
Roster Fee :
$5.00

* A roster fee of $1.00 per credit is required to file Insurance Continuing Education credit in South Carolina. That fee is collected as part of your purchase and is then used to pay for the filling of your credits.

If purchased today, this course must be completed by:
September 30, 2024 (80 Days)

South Carolina insurance continuing education requires an impartial third-party proctor be present during your final exam. The proctor must be at least 18 years of age and cannot be a friend, relative or co-worker of the licensee, nor anyone with a financial interest in the exam result.
Description

In this course we will review some of the fundamental concepts related to cyber risks and relevant insurance coverages. In addition, we will also provide answers for the most common questions you may encounter from your clients about their policies. You will read interesting and important case studies to bring this topic to life. Finally, we detail the most recent issues that have come up in the real world of providing these coverages to policyholders (such as cost containment, fraud and hard-to-place risks).

Learning Objectives:
•    Review fundamental concepts of cyber insurance.
•    Understand the cyber risk exposures and coverages for businesses.
•    Learn the role that the “cloud” and IT departments play in cyber risk policies.
•    Have answers for common questions about cyber insurance policies.

Exam Details

Need Proctor?Yes
Question Count:50
Passing Grade:70%
Attempts to Pass:Unlimited

Course Details

Course Number:6000109915
Approved Title:Cyber Risks: Insurance
Approved Credits
5 credits in Property and Casualty
Provider:InsuranceStudy.com
Provider Number:164617
Topics Covered:Property and Casualty Insurance
Program Level:Intermediate

Rules for South Carolina Insurance Continuing Education

  • This state allows for course material to be downloaded. Please note that not all courses will have content that is suitable or available for downloading.
  • Exam is closed book.
  • Effective January 2011, the deadline for biennially complying with continuing education and license renewal is the last day of the producer’s month of birth. Producers born in an odd numbered year must comply by the last day of the birth month in an odd numbered year. Producers born in an even numbered year must comply by the last day of the birth month in an even numbered year.
  • Producers must complete 24 hours of continuing education including a minimum of 3 hours of Ethics by the deadline before they can renew the license online at NIPR (www.nipr.com).
  • Multi-line (property and casualty and life, accident and health) producers must complete 24 hours of CE credits. A minimum of 8 credit hours must be completed in each line of authority and a minimum of 3 credit hours of Ethics.
  • Click here to download the South Carolina Department of Insurance Continuing Insurance Education Reminder Notice. Last Updated 06/29/2022.
  • Effective January 1, 2017, a valid personal and/or business email address is required by law. Please visit NIPR (https://pdb.nipr.com/my-nipr/frontend/identify-licensee) to update your email address. The Department will no longer be mailing hard copy renewal notices to licensees.
  • The CE hours must be completed prior to renewing the license on NIPR. You should allow at minimum 72 hours for your CE status to be updated before you will be able to renew your license. If you wait until the last day of your birth month to complete your CE, you will not be able to renew on time and will incur a late renewal penalty.
  • Producers with reduced compliance requirements (15 hours) must complete 12 hours in the line of authority held and 3 hours of Ethics. Multi-line producers with reduced compliance requirements (15 hours) must complete 6 hours in each line of authority and 3 hours of ethics. Failure to comply by the last day of the producer’s birth month will result in the license being expired. The law allowing reduced CE compliance was repealed January 1, 2010. This Section applies only to those producers who were granted a reduced CE compliance prior to January 1, 2010.
  • Up to 18 CE hours in excess of the CE compliance period may be carried over and applied to the next compliance period; Ethics hours will not carryover.
  • Effective May 27, 2022, producers may now apply for CE exemption if you are 65 years of age or older AND have 25 or more years of licensure. The online application is available on our website on the CE page.
  • South Carolina's CE vendor, SBS, charges an additional fee of $1 per credit hour for us to electronically upload course completions directly to your CE transcript.