Healthcare Reform: Pre-Existing Conditions, Benefit Limits, Rescission & Patient Protection Rules - OR
Insurance Continuing Education in Oregon
3 credit hours
If purchased today, this course must be completed by:
July 23, 2022 (365 Days)
Professional Continuing Education
In this course you will be introduced to terms and concepts used in connection with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Act) signed into law on March 23, 2010, and the Regulations for its implementation. Each new term is defined in the text and included in the Glossary. The concepts are explained and, where appropriate, are demonstrated through the use of examples.
At the conclusion of each module, a quiz is presented to test your comprehension of the material in that module. A response is given to the answers you select to the quiz questions affirming the correct choice or explaining why the choice you selected was incorrect.
Upon completion of this course, you should be able to
- explain the rules applicable to grandfathered health plans;
- describe the effective dates and rules governing the use of pre-existing condition exclusions in group and individual health insurance plans;
- discuss the annual and lifetime benefit limit rules applicable to essential health benefits under healthcare reform legislation;
- identify the conditions that would permit an insurer to rescind health insurance coverage and the applicable notice requirements; and
- explain the patient protection provisions of healthcare reform.
Although no specific course prerequisite is necessary for a full understanding of the material presented in this course, students should possess a solid, working knowledge of group and individual health insurance.
Rules for Oregon Insurance Continuing Education
- Course material may not be downloaded.
- Exam is closed book.
- Each agent must enroll for the course before having access to course material.
- A student may not access the final exam prior to reviewing all course materials.
- A review quiz is provided at the end of each chapter. The final exam may not be accessed until each review session has been successfully completed.
- Oregon Administrative Rule 836-071-0225(1)(d) limits the number of hours a producer can complete per day to 8. You may NOT start and finish more than 8 hours of continuing education on the same day.
- A course approved in part or in whole as correspondence requires a proctor to be present for the final exam. A correspondence course is any self-study course which includes printed materials as part of the program.
- The state of Oregon charges an additional fee of $1.00 per credit hour.