New Hampshire Adjusters Prepare for Changes in 2020
Effective January 1, 2020 New Hampshire Law RSA 402-B:5a will be increasing the continuing education requirement for adjusters. All New Hampshire Resident Claim Adjusters and Non-Resident Claim Adjusters that designate New Hampshire as their home state will be impacted. If you are a licensed adjuster in the state of New Hampshire, you should review this Notice issued on October 15, 2019.
The main takeaway is that the continuing education requirement for NH adjusters is changing. This along with new timelines for reporting requirements and expiration dates for New Hampshire adjuster licenses.
Changes to Continuing Education Requirements
Previously the New Hampshire continuing education requirement for adjusters was 20 hours. Effective January 1, 2020, New Hampshire is adopting the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners) standard of 24 credit hours with a minimum of 3 credit hours of ethics. Additionally, adjusters with a workers compensation authority must complete a minimum of 10 hours of workers compensation credits as part of the 21 general adjuster credits and the 3 hours of ethics.
Get started with your continuing education training requirement using our online catalog of courses at www.insurancestudy.com
Changes to Licensing Periods for New Hampshire Adjusters
Effective January 1, 2020, adjuster licenses will expire the last day of the 2nd birth month from date of issue. Those licensed prior to January 1, 2020 will experience a transition period to the birth month compliance cycle. Licensees will transition upon their next renewal which would be either on October 1, 2020 or October 1, 2021.
New Hampshire provides a helpful FAQ worksheet to help address any questions you may have about your license requirements. Here is a link to view the NH Continuing Education (CE) FAQ.