Ohio Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

Course Catalog

Course NameCreditsPrice 
View Details 4 Hour Refresher Mandatory LTC Training (Version A) 4 $49.00
View Details 4 Hour Refresher Mandatory LTC Training (Version B) 4 $49.00
View Details 8 Hour Initial Mandatory LTC Training 8 $59.00
View Details Alternative Dispute Resolution 8 $47.60
View Details Annuities (Meets NAIC 2010 Suitability Guidelines) 4 $19.95
View Details Anti-Money Laundering 3 $19.95
View Details Business Life and Disability 5 $29.75
View Details Disability Insurance Products and Principles 3 $19.95
View Details Employer Sponsored Retirement Plans 4 $23.80
View Details Ethical Principles and Practices Affecting Insurance 4 $23.80
View Details Ethics for Insurance Professionals 3 $19.95
View Details FEMA Flood 3 $19.95
View Details Guide to Homeowners Insurance 5 $29.75
View Details Healthcare Reform: Pre-Existing Conditions, Benefit Limits, Rescission & Patient Protection Rules 3 $19.95
View Details HIPAA Principles and Provisions 3 $19.95
View Details Insurance Ethics: Making the Right Decisions 3 $19.95
View Details Introduction to Life Insurance 1 $19.95
View Details IRAs 4 $23.80
View Details Life Insurance Basics 5 $29.75
View Details Managed Health Care 1 $19.95
View Details Medicare and the Rx Drug Benefit Program 2 $19.95
View Details Personal Auto 2 $19.95
View Details Products Liability 2 $19.95
View Details Property and Casualty Concepts 3 $19.95
View Details The New Medicare Rx Program 2 $19.95
Required CE Hours

Producers – Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Accident & Health, Life, Variable Annuities

24 CE hours*, including 3 hours of ethics, are required by the last day of your birth month every 2-year license term.

*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

Title Agents

Persons holding only a title license need to complete 12 hours of approved continuing education, 10 of which must be approved as title specific and 2 of which must be approved as ethics specific, prior to renewing their license.

Persons holding a title license in addition to a resident agent license must complete 24 hours of approved continuing education, 10 of which must be approved as title specific and 3 of which must be approved as ethics specific, prior to renewing their license.

Special Training/Education Requirements

Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Ohio, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month compliance period following completion of the initial LTC training.

Annuity Training Requirement

  • *Effective July 1, 2011:  All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by January 1, 2012.  All producers licensed on or after July 1, 2011 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products. 

Flood Insurance

Before selling flood insurance, licensees must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program. New licensees must comply with flood training before their first CE compliance date. 

Non-Resident CE Requirements

Nonresident agents (excluding non-resident Viatical Settlement Brokers) who have met the CE requirements in their home state are exempt from Ohio CE requirements.

Special Training/Education Requirements

Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Ohio, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month compliance period following completion of the initial LTC training.

Annuity Training Requirement

  • Effective July 1, 2011:  All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by January 1, 2012.  All producers licensed on or after July 1, 2011 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products. 

Note: Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Ohio's law will be deemed compliant for Ohio's requirement. 

License Term

The license term is every 2 years, based on the last day of the producer's birth month. 

Course Repetition Rules

Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a 2-year license term.

CE Carryover Allowance

Carryover of CE credits will only apply to license renewal applications submitted on or after February 1, 2016.

Resident agents who hold a Major Lines Licnse may carryover up to 12 credits during each renewal period.  All carryover credits are applied as "General" credits and therefore agents will continue to need to meet specific "Ethic" or other line of business requirements.  If the same course is taken more than once within a renewal period, the duplicate course(s) will not count towards the credits applicable to carry over to the next renewal period. 

CE credits will carryover automatically on the agent's record with the Department, which means that any credit(s) that are applicable for carryover will automatically be carried over to the next renewal period after the license is renewed.  Credits that have been carried over from a previous renewal period will show on CE transcripts as "CE Credit Carryover".  The education provider for CE credit carryover will be "Ohio Dapartment of Insurance".

CE Exemptions

The following licensees are exempt from continuing education requirements:

  • Persons holding a limited authority license
  • Nonresident licensees in compliance with CE requirements for their home states
  • Persons granted inactive license status by the State Director of Insurance
Final Exam Requirements

Exam Proctor Requirements

  • Self-study final exams must be proctored by a disinterested third party with no family or financial interest in the student's success on the exam. Co-workers must not be above or below in the student's line of supervision.
  • Interactive Online Courses do not require a monitored exam.

Exam Rules

  • Self-study exams must contain at least 10 questions for each course hour in the form of four-alternative multiple choice format with only one correct response.
  • Self-study final exams are closed book.
  • Access to the exam is prevented until completion of the course material. Licensees may not refer to the course material while the exam is in progress.
  • The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Roster Fees

A roster fee of $1.00 per credit hour ordered is required to process course completion hours in Ohio and will be added to the order total upon checkout.

Last Updated
Wednesday, November 30th, 2016
Disclaimer

Net Study provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither Net Study nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

State Contact Information
Ohio Department of Insurance
Phone: 614-644-2665
Fax: 614-644-3475
Email: licensing@ins.state.oh.us
 
Mailing Address:
50 W. Town St.
Third Floor - Suite 300
Columbus, OH 43215

What do the Version A and Version B mean? LTC renewal training must be completed every 2 years. Most states will not allow the same CE course to be repeated during a single compliance period or the subsequent compliance period. We strongly advise that you alternate between the online versions in order to ensure you can earn CE credit towards your license renewal. If your last course was completed in the classroom or you have never taken a course with us before, choose Version A. If you are still unsure about which course to take, check your history under "My Courses" or contact customer support.