North Carolina Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

Course Catalog

Required CE Hours

Producers & Adjusters

24 CE hours,* including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

Special Training/Education Requirements

Long-Term Care Partnership 

  • Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care partnership products, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved training course.

Note: Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to North Carolina's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement only if the insurance company chooses to accept the training completed in another state.

  • Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTCP training requirement, producers must complete a 4 hour follow-up training course every 24-month compliance period following the initial training.

Note: Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to North Carolina's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement only if the insurance company chooses to accept the training completed in another state.

Flood Insurance

All North Carolina property and casualty producers, adjusters, and personal lines producers must complete 3 hours of CE courses approved for flood insurance every other compliance term. 

Non-Resident CE Requirements

Producers

  • Nonresident producers are not required to complete the North Carolina CE requirements as long as the producer is in good standing in his or her home state.  If the producer is not in good standing with his or her home state, the North Carolina Department of Insurance will cancel the license.
    • The Department of Insurance will confirm the active home state license status for non-resident insurance producers through the national Producer Database (PDB). Non-resident insurance producer licenses will be continued upon verification of home state license authority. If the non-resident producer’s license is not in good standing in their home state, the non-resident insurance producer’s license will be cancelled in North Carolina and a letter mailed notifying the individual of the license cancellation.

Adjusters

  • Nonresident adjusters and public adjusters who have adopted North Carolina as their home state are required to complete the CE requirements of North Carolina as described below:
    • 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term (see license term below).  Nonresident Adjusters must also complete the following special training:
  • Nonresident adjusters and public adjusters who have not adopted North Carolina as their home state are not required to complete the North Carolina CE requirements as long as the adjuster is in good standing with his or her home state.  If the adjuster is not in good standing with his or her home state, the North Carolina Department of Insurance will cancel the license.
    • The Department of Insurance will confirm the active resident or designated home state license status for non-resident adjusters through the national Producer Database (PDB). Non-resident adjuster licenses will be continued upon verification of resident or designated home state license authority. If the non-resident adjuster’s license is not in good standing in their resident or designated home state, the non-resident adjuster’s license will be cancelled in North Carolina and a letter mailed notifying the individual of the license cancellation.

Special Training/Education Requirements

Flood Insurance

All property and casualty producers, adjusters, and personal lines producers must complete 3 hours of CE courses approved for flood insurance every 4 years.

Long-Term Care Partnership 

  • Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care partnership products, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved training course.

Note: Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to North Carolina's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement only if the insurance company chooses to accept the training completed in another state.

  • Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTCP training requirement, producers must complete a 4 hour follow-up training course every 24-month compliance period following the initial training.

Note: Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to North Carolina's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement only if the insurance company chooses to accept the training completed in another state. 

License Term

Producers

The license term is every 2 years, based on the last day of the licensee’s birth month. 

  • Licensees who were born in an even-numbered year will be required to complete their CE in even-numbered years. 
  • Licensees who were born in an odd-numbered year will be required to complete their CE in odd-numbered years.

Adjusters

Public Adjusters renew on 3/31 annually.

Course Repetition Rules

A course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2-year license term.

CE Carryover Allowance

Excess credit hours can be carried forward to the next license term. Excess hours in ethics or flood insurance will carry forward as general credit.  Only whole credit hours will be carried forward.

Credit hours that are carried over from a previous compliance period may be taken again in the next compliance period, and will not be considered a duplicate.

CE Exemptions

As of October 1, 2010, CE exemptions are only issued for military or medical reasons.

CE exemptions based on age (65 years or older), years of coninuous licnesure (at least 25 years) and professional designation or inactive agen status are no longer issued.  Anyone issued this exemption prior to October 1, 2010 will continue to be exempt from the 24-hour requirement and the mandatory hours in ethics and flood (if applicable).

Agents who qualified for the AGE exemption on or before December 31, 2011 were allowed to apply and obtain the exemption.

Note: In order to qualify for an exemption if one of the above is true, licensees must submit the Request for Continuing Education Exemption or Waiver to Prometric (www.prometric.com) along with the appropriate documentation, for review. 

Final Exam Requirements

Exam proctor requirements

Self-study final exams do not require a monitor.

Exam rules

Self-study final exams are closed book. Students may not refer to the course material while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Roster Fees

A roster fee of $1.65 per credit hour ordered is required to process course completion hours in North Carolina and will be added to the order total upon checkout.

Last Updated
Wednesday, November 30th, 2016
Disclaimer

Net Study provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither Net Study nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

State Contact Information
North Carolina Department of Insurance
Phone: 919-807-6800
Fax: 919-715-3794 or 919-715-7352
Website: www.ncdoi.com
 
Mailing Address:
1201 Mail Service Center
 Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
 
Prometric
Phone: 866-241-3121
Fax: 800-735-7977
Email: Pro.ce-services@prometric.com
Web site: www.prometric.com
 
Sircon
Phone: 877-876-4430
Fax: 404-656-0874
Web site: www.sircon.com

What do the Version A and Version B mean? LTC renewal training must be completed every 2 years. Most states will not allow the same CE course to be repeated during a single compliance period or the subsequent compliance period. We strongly advise that you alternate between the online versions in order to ensure you can earn CE credit towards your license renewal. If your last course was completed in the classroom or you have never taken a course with us before, choose Version A. If you are still unsure about which course to take, check your history under "My Courses" or contact customer support.