Louisiana Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

Course Catalog

Required CE Hours

Producers licensed for one or more lines of life, health and accident, property, casualty or personal lines.

24 CE hours* including 3 hours of ethics are required every 2 year licensing term.
*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

 

Adjuster License

24 CE hours* including 3 hours of ethics are required every 2 year licensing term.
*See Special Training/Education Requirements below.

 

*Special Training/Education Requirements

Annuity Training

Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Louisiana, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. 

Long-Term Care/Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP)

  • Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC/LTCP insurance products, a producer must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved LTC/LTCP training course. *If producer has previously completed this requirement in another state they will be considered compliant with the Louisiana requirement.
  • Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial training, resident producers must complete a 4-hour ongoing training course within two years of the initial training.

Flood Training Requirement

All Louisiana property and casualty licensees must complete a 3-hour course approved for flood training every renewal cycle.

Non-Resident CE Requirements

Nonresident Producers

Must meet the CE requirements of their home state. The Letter of Certification submitted with the renewal application must indicate that they have complied with the CE requirements in their resident states.

Nonresident Adjusters

Must meet the CE requirement of their home state or of another state where they are licensed.  If the adjuster is not meeting any other state's requirement or if the adjuster qualified for a Louisiana license by taking the Louisiana license exam, then the adjuster must comply with the Louisiana CE requirement.

Special Training/Education Requirements

Annuity Training

Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Louisiana, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.  *Nonresidents who satisfy the requirements of another state that are similar to the Louisiana law will be deemed compliant for the Louisiana requirement.

Long-Term Care/Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP)

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC/LTCP insurance products, a producer must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved LTC/LTCP training course. *If you have previously completed this requirement in another state you will be considered compliant with the Louisiana requirement.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial training, resident producers must complete a 4-hour ongoing training course within two years of the initial training. 
License Term

The license term is every 2 years based on the last day of the producer’s birth month in odd- or even-numbered years.

Producer Renewals
Licenses renew on the last day of the birth month with the license number determining the renewal year. Licenses that end in an even number renew in even-numbered years and licenses that end in an odd number renew in odd-numbered years.

Adjuster Renewals
Adjuster licenses renew on the last day of the birth month with the license number determining the renewal year. Licenses that end in an even number renew in even-numbered years and licenses that end in an odd number renew in odd-numbered years.

Course Repetition Rules

You may not receive credit for duplicates of the same course in one renewal period.

CE Carryover Allowance

Producers may carry over a maximum of 10 excess credit hours to the next renewal period. 

Adjusters are not permitted a carryover allowance.

CE Exemptions

Louisiana law provides for exemption or waiver of continuing education requirements for insurance producers and adjusters in certain circumstances.

Age 65 Exemption
Insurance producers may request an exemption from continuing education requirements if the producer meets these requirements:

  • is age 65
  • has a minimum of 15 years experience as a licensed producer
  • is either (a) no longer actively engaged in the business of insurance or is (b) engaged in the business of insurance and is appointed by at least one Louisiana licensed insurance company.
  • To request this exemption a producer must complete the 65A Exemption Form and return it to the Department.

This exemption from continuing education requirements is granted for life and no additional filings are required from the producer to extend the exemption. The producer must continue to submit a renewal application each renewal period. PLEASE NOTE: This exemption does not apply to the training required for all producers who sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance products. These producers must continue to obtain no less than four hours of training in each renewal period.

This exemption is NOT available for an insurance adjuster in Louisiana


Military Service Waiver
A licensed producer or adjuster who is prevented from meeting the continuing education requirements for renewal of their producer or adjuster license due to military service may request a waiver of those requirements and renewal of the license. To make such a request the licensee must;

  1. Submit a written request for the waiver with an explanation of why he was unable to meet the continuing education requirements.
  2. Provide copies of their deployment or other orders confirming engagement in military service during the renewal period.

A producer or adjuster may submit this information up to two years after the lapse of a license to request that the license be reinstated without meeting the continuing education requirement and without paying a penalty or late fee for reinstatement. However, upon reinstatement of the license, the producer or adjuster becomes responsible for meeting the continuing education requirements for the next renewal of the license. If an additional waiver is required due to recurring military service, the producer or adjuster must file such a request again.


Medical Waiver
A licensed producer or adjuster who is prevented from meeting the continuing education requirements for renewal of his producer or adjuster license due to a medical condition or injury may request a waiver of those requirements and renewal of the license. To make such a request the licensee must;

 

  1. Submit a written request for the waiver with an explanation of why he was unable to meet the continuing education requirements.
  2. Provide a statement from a medical doctor confirming the inability of the producer or adjuster from attending continuing education programs or obtaining the continuing education credits through a program of self-study.

A producer or adjuster may submit this information up to two years after the lapse of a license to request that the license be reinstated without meeting the continuing education requirement and without paying a penalty or late fee for reinstatement. However, upon reinstatement of the license, the producer or adjuster becomes responsible for meeting the continuing education requirements for the next renewal of that license. If an additional waiver is required due to continuing medical condition or injury, the producer or adjuster must file this request in each subsequent renewal period of the license.

Final Exam Requirements

Exam proctor requirements

Self-study final exams do not require a monitor.

Exam rules

Self-study final exams are open book. Licensees may refer to the course material as often as needed. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Roster Fees

None.

Last Updated
Tuesday, June 11th, 2019
Disclaimer

Net Study provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither Net Study nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

State Contact Information

Louisiana Department of Insurance
Phone: 800-259-5300
 

Division of Producer Licensing
Phone: (225) 342-0860
Fax: (225) 342-3754
producerlicensing@ldi.la.gov

 

Louisiana Commissioner of Insurance
1702 N. Third Street
P.O. Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70802